animago AWARD in its 20th anniversary

Submit your projects now! The competition for the animago AWARD in its 20th anniversary year is officially underway. Submissions welcome until 30 June 2016.

Munich, 7 March 2016. Starting right now, creative professionals from all over the world are invited to visit to submit their work in the fields of 3D ANIMATION & STILLS, VISUAL EFFECTS and VISUALISATION for consideration at the animago AWARD 2016. This year’s competition features twelve categories covering all disciplines relating to CGI (Computer Generated Imagery). Participation is free and projects can be sent in until 30 June 2016.

This year’s “Best Young Production” award will once again involve €3,000 in prize money contributed by the animago organisers at DIGITAL PRODUCTION. A special “Anniversary Prize” celebrating the 20th anniversary of the animago AWARD will also be handed out, with the nominees and winners decided by public vote.

The 2016 awards ceremony will take place during the animago AWARD & CONFERENCE (27/28 October 2016) – this year for the first time in Munich’s Gasteig Cultural Centre.

animago project manager Jana Freund: “2016 is going to be a very special year for the animago, especially considering our location change to Munich and the 20th anniversary of the animago AWARD. Over the course of two decades, we received extraordinary digital works from over 80 different nations, including “Pixels” by Patrick Jean, a prize-winning film in 2010 that formed the basis for the 2015 Hollywood film of the same name. We also had the pleasure of enjoying subsequent Oscar-winners, such as “Logorama” by Nicolas Schmerkin and “Mr. Hublot” by Laurent Witz & Alexandre Espigares. Thanks to everyone for their trust and confidence over the years in such a rapidly growing industry”.


The 12 categories of animago AWARD 2016 are as follow:

– Best Visual Effects
– Best Short Film
– Best Character
– Best Game Cinematic
– Best Motion Design
– Best Advertising Production
– Best Visualization
– Best Young Production (€3,000 prize money contributed by DIGITAL PRODUCTION)
– Best Still (public voting)
– Jury´s Prize
– Architecture Prize, presented by DETAIL
– Anniversary Prize (public voting)

More information:
Press area:
Facebook | YouTube | Twitter


About the animago AWARD & CONFERENCE:

The animago AWARD & CONFERENCE is an awards show, expert conference and leading trade exhibition all in one. The event focuses on three key areas: 3D Animation & Still, Visual Effects and Visualisation. For the past 20 years, the animago AWARD has acknowledged and honoured the year’s best productions with a special emphasis on technical skill and creativity. In the time period since the award was launched, an independent jury of experts drawn from the fields of film, development and post-production have evaluated more than 20,000 works sent in by digital artists originating in over 80 different nations.

The animago CONFERENCE offers a programme of keynote addresses, lectures and workshops that serve to connect the creative community with an audience of international experts and film and media enthusiasts. In 2016, the animago AWARD will be celebrating its 20th anniversary with all events taking place on 27/28 October 2016 – this year, for the first time, at the Gasteig Centre in Munich. All events will be supported by the Bavarian State Ministry for Economics and Media, Energy and Technology and by the Cultural Department of the City of Munich.
animago is organised by the special-interest German-language magazine known as DIGITAL PRODUCTION, DIGITAL PRODUCTION is published by ATEC Business Information GmbH,

Author, cgwires

CG WIRES is an online destination for computer graphics artists. CGWIRES aim to serve entertainment production industry with News, Features and Community services.