Nominees for the 2017 animago AWARDS

Here are the nominees for the 2017 animago AWARDS / 962 Submissions from 58 Countries

Munich, 14 July 2017. The nominees for the 2017 animago AWARDS are in! An independent jury of experts sifted through nearly 1,000 submissions from 58 countries to find the final 33 nominees for the animago’s eleven categories. The 2017 animago AWARDS will be handed out on 7th September 2017 during the animago CONFERENCE (7-8th September 2017) at Munich Gasteig Cultural Centre. The animago AWARD is an international competition aimed at creatives from all around the world who are invited to submit their work in the realms of 3D ANIMATION & STILL, VISUAL EFFECTS, VISUALIZATION and DESIGN.

Here are the nominated projects of the animago AWARD 2017:

Best Visual Effects

Best Shortfilm

Best Character

Best Game Cinematic

Best Motion Design

Best Advertising Production

Best Visualization

Best Still (public voting for the winner out of the three nominees)

Jury´s Prize

Best Architecture Visualization

The submitted works are viewed and evaluated by an independent jury of experts. Hamburg-based graphic designer and freelance editor Günter Hagedorn, who has managed the animago competition since it was founded 21 years ago, acts as head of the jury. This year’s jury members are the character animator and filmmaker Melanie Beissswenger (Happy Feet, Happy Feet 2, Iron Man 3), Alexander Bouquet, Head of Postproduction at the ad agency JUNG VON MATT, Maggy Fischer, Head of Postproduction at Neverest, Digital Production Editor Mirja Fürst, Milkroom Studios’ Managing Director Robert Hoffmeister (Pirates of the Caribbean 2,3 and 4, Star Wars Episodes 2 and 3), the graphic & motion designer Elisa Krenz, Rolf Mütze, co-founder and Managing Director of the VFX and animation studio LAVAlabs moving images, Juri Stanossek, VFX Supervisor at Mackevision Medien Design and Dominik Zimmerle, VFX Supervisor at TRIXTER Munich.

This year’s guest jurors include Daniel Curio, Head of Film Policy and Audiovisual Media at Bavaria’s State Ministry for Economics and Media, Energy and Technology, Jürgen Korbinian Enninger, Head of Munich’s Expert Team on Culture and the Creative Industries, and Marc Gegenfurtner, Head of Department I for the Fine Arts, Performing Arts, Film, Literature, Music, City History & Science in Munich’s Cultural Division.

The jury for the Special Architecture Prize is made up of the architect, editor, graphic designer and concept designer Pedro Ferreira alongside Editor-in-Chief of the architecture magazine DETAIL Dr. Sandra Hofmeister, owner and interior architect/designer at Plan2Plus Ralf Peter Knobloch and DETAIL editor Peter Popp.

The animago CONFERENCE offers a programme of keynote addresses, lectures and workshops that serve to connect the creative community with an audience of international experts and film and media enthusiasts.

Source: animago AWARD & Conference

Author, cgwires

CG WIRES is an online destination for computer graphics artists. CGWIRES aim to serve entertainment production industry with News, Features and Community services.